Caravan & Camping

Nestling in the Brendon Hills on the B3190 situated between Wimbleball Lake and Clatworthy Reservoir, we offer a relaxed atmosphere in peaceful surroundings exclusively for Adults.

We pride ourselves in our personal, friendly service and the cleanliness of the site.

Static Caravan Hire

Self catering in well equipped, clean and affordable static caravans available for hire.

Dogs welcome free.

Traditional Exmoor Inn

Adjacent to the site, Lowtrow Cross Inn offers home cooked food and local real ales and welcomes campers with their well behaved dogs.

Contact

Sue Tanser
Lowtrow Cross Caravan Site
Upton
Taunton
Somerset
TA4 2DB

Tel: 01398 371199
Email: info@lowtrowcross.co.uk

Recent Posts

Follow Us

Just some of our visitors independent reviews:

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit: Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: JGB50 1 review from this member
This is an excellent site with helpful, friendly wardens who gave helpful advice when required. There is a small shop which sells the basic items you might have forgotten. The views from the pitches are superb and toilet facilities spotless. There is a good dog walk on the site. In addition there is a pub next to the site serving good food. What more could you need?!I’ve given it one star for child friendliness only because it’s adults only!

 

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit: Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Paulkimcox 5 reviews from this member
We have just enjoyed a week long holiday at this fabulous campsite. Run by Anne & Allen the site is kept in immaculate condition. Most visitors seem to enjoy the more homely caravan or motor home accommodation and this site is well suited for them. It is refreshing that the site is equally suited for those who prefer camping under canvas. There is a slight gradient to the tent field which has been previously commented on, but it is very slight and not an issue. Allen is well equipped with packers of various thickness’ for those who wish to level their ‘furniture’. The views directly from the site are beautiful, and there is a fabulous stillness to the area with just the occasional interruption from the local livestock. The Pub is quite a gruelling 30second walk away (some of it uphill), which serves fine ales and excellent food. We managed to fit in two local walks; Tarr Steps and around Wimbleball Lake. Both were a little over 8 miles and easily achievable during an un-hurried day. If you are able they are both superb routes. We were lucky enough to see Kestrel, Goshawk (unconfirmed, but not a Buzzard), Red Deer, White Throated Dipper and Heron alongside all the more usual suspects. Anne & Allen run a small convenience cabin/office that has all the usual products to keep you going. In summary Kim and I enjoyed our break at Lowtrow immensely and will be sure to return as there is still a lot in the area to enjoy.

 

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit: Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lms0110 23 reviews from this member
Lovely small quiet site located behind the pub about 40 mins from M5 J25. We were on a hardstanding with a spacious grass area alongside, with electric, TV point & water point between 2 pitches. Wardens were friendly & helpful at all times. Site was immaculate, facilities block had 2 showers & 3 toilets which were clean and no queues even on a BH weekend, only small point, would have liked a mop to clean shower after use. Dog walk at bottom of camping field and no restriction on number of well-behaved dogs. Entrance to beer garden direct from site, very reasonable food prices. The local village is purely residential so not worth the walk along the busy B road, need a car to get anywhere. If you are there purely for walking then the only place close is Wimbleball Lake and the surrounding woods. Plenty of different tracks you can take and the entrance to the area is a 20 min walk from the site.

 

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit: Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Beauandollie 2 reviews from this member
We have just arrived home after a great week on this very well maintained campsite. Nothing was too much trouble for the warden, he helped with pushing the trailer into place and was always on hand with friendly advice. The small on site shop has everything you need. The facilities are immaculate, showers hot, microwave and full laundry facilities. As walkers there was no shortage of routes to take and plenty of information/maps in reception. Pub next door provides excellent and reasonable food. Exmoor is a lovely area with so much open space and wildlife. Would not hesitate to recommend this site.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit: Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Josie+steve+bazil 19 reviews from this member
This site has thought of everything and had everything that we like on a site. The shower blocks were clean and warm with free hot showers. The recycling was clear and concise. The dog walk was perfect for those early morning and just before bed visits. The whole site was immaculate with flowers everywhere and beautifully kept grass areas. There are TV aerial points to access and the site hires extra long lengths of coaxial cable for £2. 50 for the week. Lovely views, a lovely country pub literally yards from the site with its own gate into the pub garden. I think it serves food every evening apart from Mondays. We got to the site at lunchtime on Sunday, having started out on our journey there at 4. 30am, so we quickly set up the van then went straight to the pub for Sunday lunch and the pub allows dogs in the bar area, so, another bonus!There is a beautiful walk about a mile or so away from site which overlooks Wimbleball Lake and has free parking and Exmoor ponies! A few miles further is Blue Anchor Bay which also has free parking and dogs are allowed on the beach all year round. Also at Blue Anchor is a little cafe called Driftwood which, again, allows dogs inside, although we sat at one of the outside tables and had beautiful fish and chips!There are no downsides to this site at all. Oh, yes, actually there is one. It’s just too far away to enjoy as often as we would like! When we go back to that part of the country, we will definitely go to Lowtrow Cross. Keep up the good work. You’ve nailed it!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit: Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Discovery2 1 review from this member
WOW this is truly one of the bet sites that we have been on, we did not meet the owners but did meet the site wardens very friendly & helpful. The site is very well cared for & feels very relaxed, well stocked shop if the wardens are busy just serve yourself and pay into the honesty box [how often do you see that these days]. The local inn is also friendly serves great food & real ale/cider. There are good walks from the site, only a short drive to most places.

 

 

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit: Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Slapheadgeoff 6 reviews from this member
They say that good things come in small packages, and Low Trow campsite is a prefect example of this old saying.
A warm and friendly welcome, excellent gravel pitches in immaculately trimmed lawns, water, EHU and tv socket close to the pitch, and peace. These coupled with a small but handy shop which includes a loan library and a pile of walking maps which can be borrowed or bought, all add up to a wonderful weekend.
The toilet/shower block is small but very clean
And the dog walk in the lower field is enough for the morning and evening trots.
The Low Trow Cross pub was twenty yards from our pitch (handy) it was very friendly and served excellent food and beer, obviously it was a bonus not to have to drive out for a drink
We were there for a long weekend with family and the idea was to walk our pile of dogs, we found innumerable walks in the area, the nearest being just a very short walk up the lane opposite the site, but also Haddon Hill and Wimbleball Lake are very close. We went a bit further and had a lovely walk up the river from Tarr Steps, and another along the valley at Bury but watch out for pheasants here, there are thousands of them, our dogs were going dizzy with so many birds about.
There is a good supermarket in Bampton, but Dulverton is a much more interesting place to visit with good car parks and lots of small shops.
Overall, a small excellent adults only site set high up on the edge of the Exmoor National Park, and for adults who like peace and quiet, well worth a visit.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit: Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sue Paul 9 reviews from this member
We had a fantastic time here, all was spotless and not regimented in any way, the Wardens were more like hosts and most helpful.
The shop is perfect, just what’s needed no more and no less.
Lovely and peaceful with a fine Dog walk but do go the ‘hole in the hedge’ way out of the site, its safe for the dogs to run wild.
The eatery just outside of the site was great, dog friendly and lovely people so much so we felt like a local. We had drinks, two mains and two deserts all for £33. 00 and it was very good.
Would we go again oh yes, there is a beautiful 9 mile walk around the nearby lake calling us.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit: Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Shelly-tony 1 review from this member
Had a blissful week stay here in July picked the only week of sunshine and had a thoroughly relaxing time. The facilities on this site are small but provide all you require!
Shop with small amount of stock but have what you need, from milk to sunscreen and ice-creams and has wealth of local information.
Freezer available for ice packs and small amount of food – plus microwave and for a small charge washing machine, dryer and soap.
Shower block was very clean and no lack of hot water, toilet roll or hand-wash also concealed area for bins plus recycling.
Pitches were generous in size with the option of electric and drinking water taps easily accessible. The site itself was well managed and the wardens on site to deal with any concerns, requests or directions!
There is also a fantastic pub/restaurant at the entrance to the site with which we were given a warm welcome and excellent food/service! Had to go back so partner could have T-bone twice! and that was not on our first visit!
All in all a perfect week away with no kids, screaming or running round, would definitely recommend and go back!

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit: Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Struth 7 reviews from this member
We have just had a 2 week stay on this fabulous site. On our arrival we were made very welcome by wardens Pete and Jill. The pitches are of ample size but as they slope, blocks are provided. The facilities are spotless, the showers are free and of the push button type and plenty hot enough.
Although a road runs by the site road noise is minimal, rush hour being just one or two tractors!
For bird watchers our mobile feeder was a great success, with visits from a variety of finches, tits, a nuthatch, woodpecker and siskins.
Exmoor National Park is on the doorstep providing plenty of walking.
All in all an excellent site and one we shall be returning to in the future.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit: Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Izzytwizzy 2 reviews from this member
Oh wow, what a beautiful site! Unfortunately we were only staying one night on our way home from Cornwall. This is a beautiful secluded site and I felt very at home here.
The toilet and shower block was immaculate. My husband said the men’s were also spotless. We are planning to come here again next year on our way through, but will stay at least 2 nights next time.
I must also add a review on the pub which adjoins the camp-site. We had the most wonderful meal at the Lowtrow Cross Inn. The food and service was excellent. Obviously this is a popular pub and restaurant as it was completely full on the Thursday night that we were there. You certainly need to book a table to guarantee eating here.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit: Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Aquabliss 4 reviews from this member
This site is ideal for those who enjoy a quiet getaway. It’s ideally situated for exploring north Somerset and Exmoor – although a car is recommended as there is no bus service from/to the site.
The facilities are excellent – hot showers and very clean toilet and sink areas. This was our second visit this year, and we took advantage of one of the electric hook up pitches. These are on good level ground whereas the non electric pitches are on a very slight slope.
The site also has a small shop selling most provisions and a selection of food and drink – including frozen food. The staff are also very helpful and friendly – nothing seems too much trouble.
There is a very relaxed atmosphere about the place. Adjacent to the site is the Lowtrow Inn. We can thoroughly recommend this pub too. Quality food and drink of good proportions and not expensive. The menu is varied and there are daily specials too. There is also a wide selection of drinks including real ales and ciders. The landlady/landlord and bar staff made us feel very welcome as did the locals too.
We’ll certainly try to book another stay later this year.